Nothing’s Real: An Interview With Shura

Shura started making music in her bedroom at 16. While at uni she formed a band with guitarist Patrick Duncombe and collaborated with producer Hiatus (Cyrus Shahrad). Following her work with Hiatus, Shura decided to assume creative control over the production of her music and, during night shifts, taught herself music production via youtube videos.

In 2014 she laid down the sensationally popular debut ‘Touch’. Her self-directed video featuring her friends kissing has over 26 million views. Two other singles, ‘Just Once’ and ‘Indecision’, followed the same year. In 2015, Shura was longlisted in the BBC Sound of 2015 poll. Her debut album Nothing’s Real is due for release in July.

Describe your dream festival day.

Getting to the stage on time. Haha. If I’m playing that’s probably the most important bit for me. I still get a bit nervous when I play so for me I’m just happy if there’s somewhere I can pee that isn’t a million miles away from the stage…. (hint, hint).

Career highlight so far?

It’s so hard to think of only one thing. The last couple of years have been bonkers. If I had to pick one it would probably be the fact that I actually finished my album, which is probably not that exciting to read, BUT I REALLY CAN’T BELIVE IT’S DONE.

Song you’d most like to cover?

There’s about 3 million songs I’d love to cover and it changes on a regular basis. I’m on a Michael Jackson Human Nature flex today but if you asked tomorrow it might be Nirvana or Smashing Pumpkins.

Dream colab (dead or alive)?

I’d love to have rocked out with Kurt Cobain. That would have been a lot of fun. Prince was another dream of mine too. Madonna. I CANT PICK. Haha.

Festival Essential – what’s in your bag?

I love taking photos so I tend to pack lots of different analogue cameras. Disposables, Polaroids, My Old Olympus. There’s something really fun about taking them to be developed and having no idea what’s on there. Sometimes I screw up the film when I take it out though and that’s a HORRENDOUS surprise when you get it back and the film is totally f***ed.

Shura will be playing the Wilderness main stage at 4:45pm on Sunday.

Published by Wilderness Festival 2016

Leave a comment